Does internet shopping kill some of the fun of collecting?

We're not talking about soda, folks. This forum is dedicated to Funko's stylish Pop! series of vinyl figures, with or without springs.
Forum rules
This section is for general Pop discussion, not showing off your recent acquisitions. Please use the Dance Hall for collection addition pictures.

Please post Funko subscription box and item discussions in the Powered By Funko section.
paglinitattoo

Does internet shopping kill some of the fun of collecting?

Postby paglinitattoo » Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:49 pm

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. So in general I want to say I think eBay and other online shopping sites are good thing, but I feel it takes some of the fun away from the collecting experience. I have been collecting comics for over 20 years, and I remember as a kid one of the funniest aspects of comic was searching for those hard-to-find issues. But now with eBay anyone can go online and find anything they're looking for extremely easily, and now that I've collected almost everything I'm looking for I sort of miss those days of hunting down a entire run issue-by-issue. This past year I've gotten into Funko Pop collecting, and I'm starting to feel the same way about buying online. On one hand it is a lot of work trying to hunt down some exclusives, but I find it's way more fun actually finding them in the stores, as opposed to just ordering and getting it sent to your house. Obviously with some exclusive, you can't just go to the store and buy them. So do you think that it's more fun to go find Pops in the wild or are you okay with just ordering everything online?

treswright

Re: Does internet shopping kill some of the fun of collecting?

Postby treswright » Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:54 pm